The Sewanee Summer Music Festival is the fortunate beneficiary of endowed funds made possible through generous planned gifts.  

We are grateful for their leadership which makes over $100,000 in scholarships available each year.

Jacqueline Avent SSMF Scholarship Prize Fund

established by Walter E. Nance, M.D. & Mayna Avent Nance.


Blaffer SSMF Endowment

funded by the Sarah Campbell Blaffer Foundation.


Albert Bonholzer Endowment

for SSMF established by Herman and Mary Baggenstoss and friends.


Martha Clark Dugan SSMF Artist-in-Residence Fund

established by the family of Martha Clark Dugan to bring world-class artists to the Sewanee Summer Music Festival.


Dudley Fort SSMF Scholarship Fund

established by Dr. Dudley Ford Jr.


Kathlyn B. Hays SSMF Scholarship Fund

established through a bequest by Kathlyn Hays.


Elmer and Katherine Ingram SSMF Scholarship Fund

established through a bequest by Mr. and Mrs. Ingram.


George and Mamie Neville SSMF Scholarship Fund

established by Holton C. Rush in memory of George and Mamie Neville.


David and Lorraine Schlatter SSMF Fund

established by Mr. and Mrs. Schlatter.


Dortha Skelton Violin Scholarship Fund

established by a bequest by Dortha Skelton.


SSMF Tennessee Heritage of Music Fund

established through a matching grant from the Tennessee Arts Commission to help provide music education rich in Tennessee heritage.


George A. Tesar Fund

established through a bequest from George Tesar.


The Linda Ross Wheat Memorial Scholarship Fund

established through a bequest from Marjorie Warner Wheat.


The Jace Herring Music Library in Memory of SSMF student, Jace Herring, given by his family.